Posted by: lukelavan | June 19, 2010

Bursary for Historic Environment Record volunteer

Tim Mongiat spent a CLAS travel bursary supporting a volunteer placement at Kent Historical Environment Record. Here is his account of the internship, which should be valuable epxerience to prepare for professional work in archaeology.

The HER for Kent is found on the second floor of Maidstone town hall, a prominent building close to my place  of arrival: Maidstone East Train station. I was met on my first day by Dr  Ben Croxford, my mentor during my volunteering period and was placed initially at the desk of an archaeologist who was working in Brussels, invoking images of the global nature of archaeology. I was primarily concerned with the Historical Environment Record during my volunteering period, a database of Archaeological sites, finds and buildings in Kent (although the HER covers the country). My work mostly involved the deletion of erroneous information, repositioning of items and the amalgamation of duplicated details. I also spent a period considering some archaeological reports and amending and adding details to  ‘Sarah’, a database of information apparently named after its creator, a  previous volunteer. My volunteering was an educative process and it became clear to me how crucial the HER is as a source of Archaeological information.

Tim Mongiat CLAS undergraduate student

Leave a Reply

Categories

