Posted by: lukelavan | May 4, 2009

Delos, Sacred Island of Greece Report on my first visit

by Henry Scott, CLAS undergraduate submitting dissertation on

“Does Religion on Delos reflect the Culture of the Hellenistic Period?”

 img_1017

Having spent the last year immersed in books about Delos, I was beginning to tire of my studies of the island. However, all these feelings have now been rejected, lost and generally sent spinning away into space, since being able to visit it. This was possible thanks a Travel Grant from the Dept of Classical and Archaeological Studies, University of Kent.

Delos is like a giant Classicists’ playground, with sights and sounds to delight your eyes and ears. The weather was incredible and people were warm. Even the journey across which took two and a half days each way was well worth the effort. I soon found myself clambering over rocks to see Mount Kynthos, in search of the fabled cabanes neolithiques and searching for the Foundation of the ‘Poseidonists of Beirut’, developing an original understanding of the monuments.

img_1021

 On Delos, I understood. Standing on the top of Mount Kynthos, I realised that my previous assertion that it would be too high to climb was far from true. Indeed, one of the greatest aspects of visiting Delos was to be able to imagine the everyday lives of normal citizens, specifically in terms of religious worship. I felt the immense power of the Colossus of Apollo, next to the massive stoa to Philip V of Macedonia. The intricate beauty of the Hellenistic mosaics in the House of Dionysus and the House of the Masks, all explained to me why I was studying both Delos and Classics.

img_1032

 I would like to thank all those people who enabled me to go to Delos from my dissertation tutors to the department who granted me the Travel Grant. If an opportunity such as this is sent your way take it: ‘don’t waste a minute of it’.

 Henry Scott 04/05/2009

img_1081 

Leave a Reply

Categories

